Monday, January 15, 2018

New Music 2018 - Part 7 - Cat Clyde - Ivory Castanets

This is another release from 2017 that has just appeared on my radar and it is the debut full-length from Cat Clyde who hails from Stratford, Ontario, Canada.

Ivory Castanets - Cat Clyde (RED distribution, 5 May 2017).

Cat Clyde - Ivory Castanets:
  • Sheets Of Green
  • The Meadow
  • Running Water
  • Like A Wave
  • Heavy Weight
  • Mama Said
  • The Man I Loved Blues
  • Move Along
  • Walkin' Down The Road
  • Chimes In The Night
I have listened to the album end-to-end three times this evening.  This is fairly unusual behaviour even by my own standards.  It is certainly somewhat old-time but that's not really the issue here because the combination of voice, guitar (sometimes slide-acoustic) and keyboards is sublime. The production is not lo-fi but neither is it polished to a point that it might impact on the experience.
I'm not going to select a track from the album just now. Instead, and because I suggest that it indicates her desire to push on, this is a track that has been released since then.

The River - Cat Clyde (November 2017).

 What we need now is to see her touring over here in the UK.

No comments: